Carphone Warehouse Complaints

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 1.0/10 (2 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
Carphone Warehouse, 1.0 out of 10 based on 2 ratings
Website: http://www.carphonewarehouse.com
Telephone: 0870 111 6565
Category: Mobile Phones

8 Complaints »

I bought a phone from Carphone Warehouse in Newport and tried to return it within their 14 day money back guarantee. When I did so I was told that I couldn’t because their returns policy didn’t include phones…

PHONES???

They’re ‘Carphone Warehouse’? What else would it apply to? They had big flashy stickers all over the store advertising this 14 day money back guarantee, but they had the bare faced cheek to say that it didn’t apply to phones.

After raging at their customer service department they backtracked and said that actually yes, it did apply to phones and the manager in Carphone Warehouse Newport was wrong.

I got my refund, but it took two trips instead of one and I never received an apology from the arrogant, deceitful manager at Newport’s Carphone Warehouse.

I won’t be using them again.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)

Complaint by
Mr Daz
August 3, 2011 @ 1:21 pm

Mr. Daz,

Newport! That was your first mistake! I have made a vow to myself to never buy anything from Newport that I could potentially return. The customer service is shockingly bad. Even approaching a sales assistant is a task in itself to get anything other than a grunt!

Cwmbran (just up the road) is a different story… Like polar opposites!

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
Mr. Dan
August 7, 2011 @ 11:04 am

I TRIED TO SET A CONTRACT AT YOUR BRIXTON BRANCH AND WAS GIVEN A DODGY CONTRACT PHONE THAT COULD ONLY MAKE CALLS SO TOOK BACK TO PUTNEY BRANCH AND ONCE AGAIN WAS GIVEN A CONTRACT THAT CAN ONLY MAKE CALLS TOOK BACK AND WAS TOLD IT WAS THE MOBILES SYSTEM WAS DOWN BUT CONTACTED EE AND WAS NO FAULT ON THERE BEHALF YOUR STAFF HAD NOT GOT THE PHONE REGISTERED WITH THEM. TOOK BACK AND GOT A DISWELCOMED RECEPTION AND WAS TOLD I WAS JUST A PERSON WHO DOES NOT NO WHAT HE WAS ON ABOUT AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO WAIT TILL TUESDAY FOR IT TO SORT ITSELF OUT. GOT REFUND THAT NIGHT AND WENT TO EE STORE NEXT DOOR TO THE CARPHONE WAREHOUSE STORE AND THE STAFF SET THE PHONE UP FOR ME SO THAT IT WAS ALL WORKING AS THE STAFF AT THE CARPHONE DID NOT EVEN SET THE PHONE UP FOR ME I HAD TO DO IT ALL MYSELF AND I FIND THIS SORT OF CUSTOMER SERVICE A RIGHT DISCRASE AND WILL NOT BE RECOMENDING CARPHONE WAREHOUSE TO ANYONE. I FIND IT A BAD SERVICE THAT YOU HAVE A CONTRACT THAT YOU CAN ONLY MAKE CALLS ON FOR ONE WEEK AS THE STAFF DO NOT NO WHAT THEY ARE DOING AND TELL YOU THAT YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE ON ABOUT WHEN YOU FIND OUT THAT THEY ARE NOT CAPABLE OF SETTING UP A CONTRACT PHONE ACCOUT. I THINK THERE HEAD OFFICE SHOULD COMPENSATE ME FOR THE INCONFINIENCE OF GOING BACK TO THE STORE 3 TIME TO GET MY MONEY BACK AND GO ELSE WHERE TO GET A CONTRACT DUE TO LACK OF NOLAGE OF THERE STAFF.I LOOK FORWARD TO HEREING YOUR RESPONCE TO MY COMPLAINT.

INVOICE NUMBER: 193303518
TRANSACTION: 296100995

INVOICE NUMBER:193404578
TRANSACTION: 296328054

YOURS TRUTHFULLY
B.P.F.BEAUMONT

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
BRIAN BEAUMONT
November 10, 2013 @ 12:29 am

i have been a CPW customer since CPW has existed. Always took a contract from them because i had imagined that they were best in the market. Somewhere I was wrong, because i was due for an upgrade on 18th of march 2014, i walked in to CPW store in Nottingham. Following processing my order suddenly they said we cant give you this contract, although the phone operator company doesn’t has a problem neither my credit is score is low.

They said w cant explain why but our system is not allowing to do so, you better contact the customer services. I called CPW same evening they said we cant tell you why but we cant give you and without any thanks they just hung the phone. It is turned into a useless company, they have just forgotten how to treat customers because of whom they are paid. Never ever gonna turn back to CPW in my life. Cheaters.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Complaint by
Manik Mathur
April 1, 2014 @ 10:22 am

I ordered a phone online and said I would pick up from the Harrogate branch of car phone warehouse I got the order confirmation and dispatch email then nothing I was able to track the order and found out it had been delivered and signed for at the branch but 3 days later I still hadn’t been informed. I called the branch 17 times and emailed 5 times no response in the end I had to come out of work and go to the branch. My first question to the sales guy was do you not answer the phone here his response no why would we we are down here and the phone is up stairs laugh laugh. I asked if I could collect my phone and ranted about the poor service yawn yawn I could tell. I have emailed the director at car phone warehouse and been promised a call back …..2 days now no call back. To add insult to injury the phone signal iis shocking it keeps turning itself off so I am using my old phone. The network iis owned by carphone warehouse and the reviews are terrible all saying the same rubbish scam and terrible customer service. You won’t get any response from anyone at car phone warehouse but what you will get is an email on the dasdasy you get the phone saying your first bill is due???? What how can you have a bill. Anyway its going g back tomorrow I would rather pay more to get a better service.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Complaint by
Caroline pedel
December 9, 2016 @ 3:56 pm

Two weeks ago I upgraded my contract to a new Samsung G7 edge on Vodaphone network.
We have just moved to the Cotswolds and were told that the network coverage was fine. NOT AT ALL THE CASE. I visited the Cheltenham store today and they stated that they couldn’t help and to call customer service, who would sort it out by changing the phone or network . I did call one of the advisers, who told me to go back into the store as she could not find our details online. This call lasted 20 minutes. I contacted the store again who still confirmed that it was the customer service problem to sort out. I again called customer services who kept me on the phone for 1 hour without sorting the issues. They transferred me to the network team. That were on the phone for a further 40 minuets. Still unable to sort out the network signal. They stated that this area has a strong signal. Which is totally incorrect. I have had the phone 14 day and have not made any call and have no signal at all in my area or house. The phone network is zero in this area. I.E . GL54 1AA. I believe that a. booster should be fitted in an attempt to help the poor signal. This option has not been suggested or offered. My 14 Day are up TMRW. I received an email from Vodaphone yesterday stating that if we had any network issues then we could cancel the contract. I am running out of time to get this sorted. No one wants to take responsibility for this issue.
Your customer service is anything but customer service. NO HELP AT ALL. If I do not receive a satisfactory response ASAP. Then I will be left with no alternative but to seek further advice.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
Mr D Hingley
January 17, 2017 @ 7:48 pm

Bought a micro USB cable to charge my phone in your oxford street branch, go to use it and it doesn’t work so take it back 4 days later with my receipt and the Chinese guy behind the counter said he doesn’t believe me that it doesn’t work and wont give me a refund and its not in a sellable condition.. its faulty so its okay to sell me a faulty ite3m but not give me an exchange or refund when I have the receipt. Absolute rip off. DO NOT BUY CHARGERS FROM CARPHONE WAREHOUSE! your better off buying off bloody ebay, better chargers for half the price and without the hassel.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
Taylor
February 3, 2017 @ 12:27 pm

I recently dropped my phone on the tile floor in my kitchen.The screen went black.So I took it to a phone repair shop who said it was knackered.I then went to carphone warehouse to explain my dilemma.They said ther was nothing they could do and suggested an upgrade as I was still in my contract.Stupidly I agreed to upgrade for an extra tenner a month with 150 pound cashback.Good deal,or so I thought.this was on Thursday of last week 2nd of feb.Friday morning got a letter from craphone warehouse telling me that in seven days time my contract was up for renewal.I went back to the store only to be told because I had had an upgrade I was not eligible for my new phone.This was not 24 hours since I had changed my deal.I cant understand why my contract details were not on the carphon warehouse system.They said to ring O2 as they had the authority to cancel my deal.I rang O2 only to be told the my contract couldonly be dealt with by,yes you’ve guessed it carphone warehouse.Back at carphone warehouse they said it was O2 who had the authority to cancel my deal.And so it went on for four days back and forth.needless to say I have come to the conclusion that neither party wants to help.As for the cooling off period this does not apply to O2 tariffs,a point that nobody told me about.I will never use this company again,once they have you sign the contract you are basically written off.they totally refuse to help you.Even if you are not happy with the deal you have signed up for.Their company motto should read we have got you to sign a contract now go away we real don’t give a S??? Once this contract is up I would rather use two bean cans and a length of string as my way of communication than use this Bullying and uncaring company.Carphone Warehouse,what a joke.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
keith tuson
February 9, 2017 @ 8:12 pm

RSS feed for complaints on this post. TrackBack URL

Write a Complaint about Carphone Warehouse

Protected with IP Blacklist CloudIP Blacklist Cloud