Royal & Sun Alliance (RSA) Complaints

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.4/10 (7 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
Royal & Sun Alliance (RSA), 5.4 out of 10 based on 7 ratings
Website: http://www.rsagroup.com
Telephone: 01403 232 323

20 Complaints »

Been trying to log on to my RSA eChoice insurance policy for a few weeks now,would like to have a copy of my Policy documents,but keep getting the following :…
Our site appears to be having a few problems, but don’t worry – we’re working hard to fix it. Please try again soon.
Have sent several emials to them,and as yet had no reply,and have also phoned them,they said it will be sorted soon !
They seem cheap on there insurance prices,but i now dont think its worth it

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
peter jones
September 11, 2011 @ 10:12 am

Had exact same problems as Peter above for whole of policy period and again more problems logging on when trying to make changes. When policy was due for renewal, after cancelling by phone and receiving a confirmation letter that it was cancelled they still took £ 106.02 from my bank without authorisation and set up a quarterly debit for same amount. After several calls and failed atempts to log onto their website Again, they finally after two full weeks sent me a cheque for £73.29!!! No explanation..no replies to my letters and their customer service is just pants!! I am still waiting on my £32.73 4 months later! When you call you hold for at least 15mins and then are advised to log on to website which is always having problems and when you do speak to someone they are very vague with their information!

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
Gary Trotter
January 12, 2012 @ 12:22 pm

Royal & Sun Alliance completely messed up on paying out on my endowment maturity. They took weeks and a huge number of email, phone and letter exchanges to resolve a very simple issue – policy comes to an end and requires a payout. Letters to the Chairman and Chief Andy Haste achieved nothing, even when I sent them to their home addresses. Only the threat of buying a share in RSA and coming along to the AGM to confront him personally persuaded Andy Haste to apologise. Along the way the Financial Ombudsman found in my favour and awarded compensation. It’s now galling to see Andy Haste praised to the heavens for the great job he’s done for RSA, and in line for a top job with RBS – as far as I’m concerned they are welcome to him. I for one will be withdrawing business from them, and will never conduct business with any company that employs him.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
Paul B
June 2, 2012 @ 1:52 pm

Have been trying to get car insurance with RSAechoice – have put in payment details but have not received any confirmation that I am now insured with them. Have e-mailed them but no reply.This is rather worrying. I darenot put in the pay details again in case they deduct it twice

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
j carter
July 18, 2012 @ 1:39 pm

BEWARE part of the claims department for the RSA is now in India. They called to inform that a client had committed fraud by claiming twice for the same claim (how!!) and would be taking away NCD leaving £1,000′s of pounds to repay.

Aftering ring the claims department and being kept on hold for over 37 mins no one was able to help. I will be taking the matter to RSA HO in UK.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
Maria
November 29, 2012 @ 3:27 pm

hi, you are holding 2 of my personal injury claims, i would like to put an official complaint in and also i would like to know who you are regulated by because insurers like yourselves should not be in the insurance industry fot making any excuse and not paying peoples injury compensation what they are rightfully due. my details are as follows: Ahmed Butt, 123 washington street, bradford, bd8 9qp. contact: 07446933961

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
ahmed butt
January 20, 2013 @ 7:27 pm

An absolute disgrace of a company, avoid at all costs! The way in which this company operates is surely boarder line illegal. So shrouded in how they operate and when you don’t renew your policy and actually confirm not to renew online they just renew it anyway then charge for the privilege of having to cancel a policy you didn’t even take out in the first place. It cost me £65 to get out of an insurance policy I didn’t take out and when I finally got through on the telephone I was told that it was a rolling contract and renewed automatically even though I confirmed not to renew online and told that it was in the t and c’s and therefore had to pay a cancellation fee!! A cancellation fee for a policy I never renewed and I still have not received my proof of no claims from them DISGUSTING and surely illegal?

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)

Complaint by
Tony
March 20, 2013 @ 11:09 pm

I know. I KNOW, ” you’ve heard it all before”. But keep watching this space. You are a disgrace to the Insurance profession Your. Contact numbers are hardly fit for purpose. This may seem a trivial matter to yourselves. But being kept on the phone for over an hour. ( and still not get through). Is totally unjustifiable and a premium number too!?
Your client hit my car. Only slight damage. But that is NOT the point here is it. It is more to do with. Being practically impossible to get through I am going to do some research on RSA. And will ask for some answers from authorities who look into such matters as insurance complaints. R Hill

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
Raymond hill
April 22, 2013 @ 3:51 pm

God almighty you must want your brains tested to go , R Hill

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
Raymond Hill
April 22, 2013 @ 4:00 pm

THE RSA IS FED ON A DIET OF GREED AND SELFISHNESS, BT HAS REALISED THAT COMPANIES ‘JUST LIKE RSA’ AND OTHER INSURANCE COMPANIES USE THE 0845 NUMBER ( RESULTS IN PEOPLE LIKE US PUTTING MONEY IN THE BANK FOR THEM) BT HAVE STOPPED CHARGING THEIR CUSTOMERS FOR USING THIS SERVICE ~ AT GREAT COST TO THEMSELVES~ HOW NICE OF THEM IS THAT? THESE GREEDY PARASITES NEED TO BE STOPPED THEIR CLAIMS DEPARTMENT SPOKESPERSON DID NOT WANT TO HEAR WHAT WE WERE SAYING ABOUT THIS OBVIOUS SCAM FROM RAY HILL

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
RAY HILL
April 23, 2013 @ 5:40 am

My 70 year old mother took out insurance on line with EChoice RSA. Despite asking for the policy on numerous occasions, did not receive. However, they confirmed my mother was insured and money had been deducted from bank. Three months later she was stopped by the Police … you’ve guessed it – not insured! The policeman tried his best to sort it out by phoning EChoice but they close at 5 pm! He told her that her car would have to be seized, 6 points on her licence and a fine – she would also have to go to Court! She would also have to pay to get her car back. I eventually got through via Live Chat to Echoice that evening and they emailed to confirm that she had insurance and that the error was due to an ‘administrative error’. The email was taken to the police station the next day and although she did not have her licence taken, she was told that she would have to go to Court. She then spent three hours queuing up to retrieve her car and had to pay £150. I believed this company were reputable as underwritten by RSA, however, I can only agree with all the other terrible comments people have made about them … it’s unfortunate we had not read them prior to taking out the insurance. If you are reading this and have not yet ‘signed up’ DON’T. All I can say is “you get what you pay for” and “if it sounds too good to be true, it usually is”. I will now try to get back the money my mother has had to pay out but I don’t hold out much hope. As for compensation for the trauma and embarrassment of her ordeal … that would probably be a miracle!! Good luck.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
Anne
May 12, 2013 @ 8:36 am

i had the misfortune to be burgled in march, i had my window smashed and valuable items taken and even though i was insured and paid my premiums on time the service by royal sun alliance is bloody rubbish. they responded very quick to tell me my premiums have gone up and i lost my no claims bonus even though they have not not paid me a settlement and i paid £150 to get my window fixed, a woman came to see me at my home to take details of what has been stolen and 8 weeks later this matter has not been dealt with, she promised me e-mails with a settlement figure but i think she has gone on strike and there seems to be no end end in sight for me so maybe legal action for fraud against a company that takes your premiums but never pays when you have a claim is in order

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
neil cammack
May 31, 2013 @ 12:06 am

Following a car accident of which THEIR client admitted liability 15 weeks ago these fools are still trying to get out of paying us out not content with not paying us, they have also not paid the car hire company to which we have had had to pay £500! They are a joke they do not have the courtesy to reply to complaints. They should not be allowed to mess up people’s lives like they do. Their staff are rude and non compliant. Have had to take it further and waiting to take them to court. To be avoided at all costs!

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
k parker
June 17, 2013 @ 11:53 am

PS should have done my homework before trusting you guys!!!!

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
ljkay
August 28, 2013 @ 8:06 pm

i michael neild have a mobility car with insured rsa 6 times i have waited in for to garage to get the car repaired without success due to the large amount of complaints about the car & not turning up when we were told they were going to turn up & supply us with a courtsey car friday the 30th august 2013 we got told we would have a courtsey car guaranteed while our car get repaired done to the car turn up at our house i consider the amount of times gone to attempt to get our car been told the car repaired is unexceptable the amount of time cost us staying in at home noone turning up when they say i therefore feel that the rsa insurance we were informed & guaranteed to get the car repaired & replaced this as not yet happened i consider the company rsa have a bad repution when we were told the car as to be repaired my oppinion they have a bad repetion if it means this amount of times it as to be waiting in each time we were going to get a courtsey delivered to our house excuses after excuses not the way to run a company also i am therefore compensation for all lthe upheaval it as caused this was done by my wife due to unable to do this through dementia so i am now seeking compensation due to what i have put forward in this complaint mr michael neild 1 whitby road runcorn wa75ps 01928771519

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
michael neild
August 30, 2013 @ 5:21 pm

Basically RSA do not communicate with you via email.
I ended up going to local Yorks Building Socoety quite irate about storm damage and that RSA were not answering email claims which they speciify on using claims telephone line.
The YBS let me use their phone as I had tried umpteen times via our landline. Finally when I spoke to an advisor they could not grasp that the courtesy of contact by email or phone was appropriate.

From this phone call I received an email telling a designated Personal Advisor. I sent an email with quotes and received no acknowledgement. Just left in limbo land, when I had to go back to YBS to use their phone to speak to RSA who told me they weren’t satisfied with the estimate / quote from roofing company.

I told them that lack of communication to the customer (me) was absolutely ridiculous. The saga goes on…. I am losing the will to live.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
Martyn Brannan
January 4, 2014 @ 11:43 am

After four long phone calls (listening to music for half) several promise – all without substance I tried to get in touch with RSA complaints dept. but was told I could not contact them directly but had to wait for a line- manager to forward my complaint. I then wait up to 5days for a reply. There is apparently no-one on phone or on-line that I can connect with! Is it any wonder the company is in such a mess. I spoke to multiple employees in apparently different countries all promising to sort out my complaint but 3 months on I am no further forward. Time to get a grip Adrian Brown you are the one earning the big bucks and I am one of the unfortunates paying you

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Complaint by
Thomson
April 14, 2014 @ 3:47 pm

My motorhome vehicle was hit by a doctor 6/12/2013.

Im completely blameless for the accident, but my motor home has been with an “assured repairer” for 6 months, who has ordered a back panel to repair it. Guess what .. NO BACK PANEL, vehicle has brakes siezed, class 7 mot ran out ..tax is expired. Endless phone calls and getting no where fast, my 27,000 motor home has devalued to around 18,000 in the mean time. The stress alone has caused me to faint.

ROYAL SUN ALLIANCE ARE RUBBISH. 6 MONTHS INTO THE ACCIDENT AND NOTHING !!!!

i now am prepared to send a transporter to collect my vehicle, and get it repaired myself. The final bill will be paid by them and i will never ever deal with them again.

The operative dealing with it actually hung up on me after stating we are no longer dealing with it and no im not giving you the number of where the vehicle is being kept.!!!

A set of dogs from start to finish, and no i havent finished with them yet, as the next phase will be a legal battle as i have now run out of patience.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Complaint by
LINDA
May 19, 2014 @ 1:15 pm

My husband died in August 2013. Through grief I did not get around to calling Royal Sun Alliance to cancel the insurance on his car until early November 2013. I continued to make the payments, the car was not used and just left on the driveway.

I contact Royal Sun Alliance who asked me to send a copy of my late husband’s death certificate which I did.

They acknowledged receipt and told me I was due a refund of £293.10 which was credited to my account. However, the cancellation scheduled actually said I was due in excess of £400. I accordingly rang them in December 2013 and was told that a cheque for the balance would be sent out.

I rang them back in January 2014 only to be told that I was not entitled to the balance and indeed I owed them £60. I asked them to explain and they said a letter would follow. A letter never followed by then I started to get calls from a Collection Agency who I have spoken to on a number of occasions and explained the situation. I sent them copies of the paperwork and am still waiting to hear from RSA. I actually telephoned them today only to be told they would get back to me.

My husband died in horrific circumstances and to say I am disgusted with the way I am being treated is an understatement.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
Pauline
September 2, 2014 @ 11:54 am

Very good information. Lucky me I recently found your site by chance
(stumbleupon). I’ve bookmarked it for later!

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Complaint by
pension transfers
September 5, 2014 @ 2:36 pm

RSS feed for complaints on this post. TrackBack URL

Write a Complaint about Royal & Sun Alliance (RSA)